Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Noor Inayat Khan’s Urs 2020

September 13, 2020 @ 1:30 pm - 4:30 pm EDT

Free

Noor Inayat Khan’s Urs 2020
w/ Pir Zia & Special Guest Shrabani Basu
Sunday, September 13, 2020

On Sunday, September 13, from 3-4:30 pm Eastern, we return for our weekly Sunday gathering to celebrate Noor’s Urs and also Hejirat Day, the anniversary of Hazrat Inayat Khan’s bringing of Inayatiyya Sufism from the East to the West. All are welcome to join us and our special guest, Shrabani Basu, author of Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan.

Please also join us for a special Noor Sama, right before our gathering, from 1:30-2:30 pm Eastern. We will use separate Zoom links for each event, with a half-hour break in between offerings. Please come to one or both events featuring many special guests to be announced!

Noor Sama Zoom Link (1:30 pm EDT): https://zoom.us/j/93350082259
Noor Urs 2020 Zoom Link (3:00 pm EDT): https://zoom.us/j/96457857981

Noor Sama w/ Inayatiyya Musicians’ Guild Global Times
10:30 am San Francisco, 1:30 pm New York, 6:30 pm London, 7:30 pm Berlin, 8:30 pm Istanbul, 10:30 pm Lahore, 3:30 am (Mon) Sydney, 5:30 am (Mon) Auckland

Noor Inayat Khan Urs 2020 Global Times
12 pm San Francisco, 3 pm New York, 8 pm London, 9 pm Berlin, 10 pm Istanbul, Midnight (Mon) Lahore, 5 am (Mon) Sydney, 7 am (Mon) Auckland

Also, please join us for the worldwide premiere of Noor’s play, Aède of the Ocean & Land, on Monday, September 14th at 1 pm Eastern. Please see here for details and to purchase tickets.

If you have questions about Noor’s Urs 2020, please email us at the Astana in Richmond, Virginia, [email protected].


BIOGRAPHIES

Shrabani Basu was born in Kolkata and grew up in Dhaka, Kathmandu and Delhi. She moved to London in 1987 and is a correspondent for the Kolkata-based newspapers Ananda Bazar Patrika and The Telegraph. She is also the author of Curry: The Story of the Nation’s Favourite Dish, the critically acclaimed biography Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan, and Victoria & Abdul: The True Story of the Queen’s Closest Confidant. She lives in London.

Pir Zia Inayat KhanPir Zia Inayat Khan carries the Sufi lineage of his grandfather, Hazrat Inayat Khan. He received his Ph.D. in Religion from Duke University. His books include Saracen Chivalry: Counsels on Valor, Generosity, and the Mystical Quest and Mingled Waters: Sufism and the Mystical Unity of Religions. Pir Zia is president of the Inayatiyya and founder of Suluk Academy. Now based in Richmond, Virginia, Pir Zia frequently travels. His schedule can be found at www.pirzia.org/calendar/.

Details

Date:
September 13, 2020
Time:
1:30 pm - 4:30 pm EDT
Cost:
Free
https://zoom.us/j/96457857981